the squirrel and the boss

Standard

The time the squirrel peed on my boss…

Its time for a fun story. So….back when I was working my first full time job out of college, I had a gorgeous black lab. she was on a long chain in the back yard that encompassed a tree. Well, there was an annoying squirrel that would drop acorns on the dog while she was sleeping. It was quite hilarious really. Poor Lanie would move around trying to get comfy in the shade (b/c we live in Texas!) and the squirrel would move around on the branches and drop acorns on her. Who knew squirrels could be so silly?! Oh, that was only the beginning. Apparently, the acorn dropper had a baby, which one day fell out of the tree. This day was a RAINY day and I looked out the window to see the dog with something alive in her mouth so I ran out to “save” it from her clutches and discovered it to be a baby squirrel!! This squirrel was big enough that it had all its hair (to the cute stage) but small enough it couldn’t care for itself. So I wrapped it in a towel and it eventually woke up and “attached” itself to me! When it stopped raining, I put the baby back on the tree…thinking it would run up to mommy, but no such luck. hhmmm…research time! So I found out what it could eat, how to care for it, and that it was illegal to keep it. So I found a reserve about an hour away that could take it, but I couldn’t get there for about a week, so I just kept the squirrel with me until then.

And when I say I kept the squirrel with meI mean that the squirrel would not leave my body. It climbed up on my shoulder to perch, went everywhere with me, slept on my stomach at night, curled up in the curve of my back while I drove, ate out of my hand, went with me everywhere. I think one of the best moments was when I drove thru to get BBQ one night and the lady about fell over when I pulled up to the window with the squirrel on my shoulder, lol!

Anyway, so as life goes, I had to go to work. desk job. and so did the squirrel. And things went generally well. minor distractions. I had a little bottle from the vet I would feed it with and some peeled/diced grapes (yea, try doing that!). One day my boss came to show me something at my desk and while he was sitting in my chair the squirrel leaped onto his back. He thought it was kind of cute, for like a minute, until he started feeling something warm on his back. Oh yes, the squirrel relieved itself on the dry-cleaned finely pressed fancy shirt back of my boss!!

Yea, that was one of the best/worst days of my job!!! Overall, one of the coolest weeks ever.

3 thoughts on “the squirrel and the boss

  1. Fran

    Only you would even take the time to resque a baby squirrel, or maybe me.
    Like mom, like daughter. I have a similar story from my meter reading days but it was a tiny baby rabbit that 2 dogs were antagonizing. I took them to the animal shelter, they kept the bunny for me. Forever.

    • i am very nurturing and creative, so i didn’t see the issue. and as long as i could do my job, then my boss allowed it to stay with me. i had a desk job, so it just sat on me all day while i worked. besides, how can you kick out the adorable baby squirrel! you should have seen him, he was precious.

Leave a comment